Skip to content

Jeff Wanted My Opinion…

March 3, 2011

…about his post.

First of all, if I walked into the Regal Beagle or wherever you play at, if you look up at me and say, “Hey!  Wanna play some Ampersand?”, my reaction is gonna be this:

I don't know what the fuck you're talking about ginger, so stay the fuck away from me.

Second, this is just more clit-fiddling about trying to use a name to set yourself apart, when really it’s the same ol’ shit.  “Look here!  This is not D&D… it’s Labyrinth Lord!”  “I have created something new – behold Delving Dumber!”  “D&D?  That’s for Hasbrofags.  I play… AMPERSAND!”  No one is doing anything remotely interesting when they reinterpret, regurgitate, reminisce, or argue about the rules.  You have some house rules?  Oh, and you’ve got some adorable name for them?  Seen it – pardon me if my panties don’t get wet.

Third, that OSR logo is another dumbass contrivance meant to keep girls out of the treehouse.  “You can’t come up unless you know the secret password!”  “Uh… D&D?”  “Heh – NO!  Loser!!!”  It’s even dumber when you assert that it’s okay to bait newbies with ‘D&D’, but use ‘OSR’ among all the Internet cool kids, as if the newbie is going to go all wide-eyed and awestruck when you finally initiate him or her into the mysteries.

Please overcome the burnout, which is leading you down a dark path deep into the puckered clutches of your own navel – McKinney found his way out, so can you.  Please write more shit like Asteroid-1618 and Cinder.  Please devote your energy to what goes on in your game, not what you call it.

Uh, I feel sick after that.  Way too much atta-boy bullshit.  Gotta resurrect an oldie that’s a goodie to wash away the taste…

SHOW YOUR TITS!!!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2011 5:33 am

    Thanks. Just to be clear, I’m not looking to sell anyone or even give away a copy of a rulebook that says Ampersand on the cover. I’ve got another name in my head for my current shitty homegrown houserules but I never say it out loud because the last thing we need is another one of those things. All I was fishing around for was a good term for “the set of all games directly derived from OD&D, their clones and descendants”. Maybe you’re right and it’s just melancholy.

    • March 4, 2011 7:26 am

      Jeff, I have to applaud either your courage or sense of masochism to lob that one up there. You’re a good egg, sir.

  2. LordofGreenDrizzleshits permalink
    March 4, 2011 7:12 am

    Try this one for size. http://i55.tinypic.com/jtnhbc.png

    • Sure thing permalink
      March 6, 2011 9:54 pm

      You are such a clever waffledouche. Did you come up with that all by your lonesome?

  3. Anonymous permalink
    March 10, 2011 1:18 pm

    so speaking of that clubhouse

    http://www.rpgbloggers.com/?s=hot+elf+chick

  4. FASERIP permalink
    March 21, 2011 5:10 pm

    LOL

  5. April 27, 2011 11:28 am

    Dude, I love you every more with each passing day. I can’t help myself. You had me at Regal Beagle…

  6. April 27, 2011 11:29 am

    Look at my last comment, I sound like a fucktard. Look what you do to me. “I love you every more”? Who the fuck types that?!

Leave a Reply

